top of page
Vanessa de Happi.jpeg

Vanessa De Happi

Of Counsel

A graduate in French Law (University of Montpellier I), Quebec Law (University of Montreal) and Common Law (University of Sherbrooke), Vanessa de Happi is a member of Cameroon and Quebec Bars. She began her career as a Compliance Lawyer with one of Canada's largest financial groups (Desjardins Group), then joined one of the most prestigious international business law firms, Norton Rose Fulbright, .

Vanessa de Happi, combines theoretical training in Business Law acquired through a Master I in Corporate and Business Law, a Master II in International Trade Law (University of Montpellier I) and a Master II in Common Law - Anglo-Saxon Law - (Université de Sherbrooke), with practical experience acquired in companies and in law firms.

As part of her experience at Norton Rose Fulbright Vanessa de Happi has been involved in major cases in business litigation. She has regularly advised clients on legal and regulatory compliance in the areas of finance and insurance, telecommunications and digital (protection of personal data).

She has also acquired a solid experience in drafting legislative and regulatory texts during her years of practice in Canada. In fact, she actively participated in the drafting and revision of the Canadian Anti-Spam Law (2015). In addition, as a compliance lawyer with the Insurance subsidiary of Desjardins Group, she was in charge of drafting several company policies (Code of ethics, Internal regulations, Policy on Human Resources Management, Policy on executive expenses, Policy on appointment of members of the Board of Directors, Policy on the protection of personal information, fight against money laundering and terrorist financing, etc.).

 

After having practiced for several years in Canada, Vanessa returned to Cameroon in 2016 and joined DH Avocats, where she is in charge of the Corporate Law department and OHADA and CEMAC matters within the firm. As such, she supports several foreign exporters in the framework of the protection of their commercial operations with local companies and assists investors, in particular with regard to the implementation of incentive measures on the fiscal and customs plans provided for by Cameroonian legislation governing private investments.

Expertise

  • Legal and regulatory compliance

  • Corporate law

  • Contract law

  • Banking and financial law

  • Investment law

  • Digital law

  • Trade and commodities

bottom of page

Vanessa de Happi.jpeg

Me Vanessa De Happi

Of Counsel

Diplômée en droit français (Université de Montpellier I), en droit québécois (Université de Montréal) et en Common Law (Université de Sherbrooke), Me Vanessa de Happi est membre des barreaux du Cameroun et du Québec. Elle a débuté sa carrière comme avocate en Conformité au sein de l’un des plus grands groupes financiers du Canada (Desjardins Group), pour ensuite rejoindre le cabinet Norton Rose Fulbright, un cabinet international d’avocats d’affaires parmi les plus prestigieux. 

Me Vanessa de Happi, allie une formation théorique en droit des affaires acquise dans le cadre d’un Master I en droit de l’entreprise et des affaires, d’un Master 2 en droit du commerce international (Université de Montpellier I) et d’un Master 2 en Common Law - Droit anglo-saxon - (Université de Sherbrooke) avec une expérience pratique acquise en entreprise et en cabinet. 

Dans le cadre de son expérience au sein de Norton Rose Fulbright Vanessa de Happi a été impliquée dans des dossiers d’envergue en matière de contentieux des affaires. Elle a régulièrement conseillé les clients en matière de conformité légale et règlementaire dans les domaines de la finance et des assurances, des télécommunications et du numérique (protection des données personnelles). 

Elle bénéficie par ailleurs d’une solide expérience en matière de rédaction de textes législatifs et règlementaires acquise au cours de ses années de pratique au Canada. En effet, elle a activement participé aux travaux de rédaction et de révision de la Loi Canadienne Anti-Pourriel (2015). Par ailleurs, en tant qu’avocate en conformité au sein de la filiale Assurance du Groupe Desjardins, elle a notamment été en charge de la rédaction de plusieurs politiques d’entreprises (Code d’éthique, Règlement intérieur, Politique sur la gestion des ressources humaines, Politique sur les dépenses des dirigeants, Politique sur la désignation des membres du Conseil d’Administration, Politique sur la protection des renseignements personnels, lutte contre le blanchiment des capitaux et financement du terrorisme, etc.). 

 

Après avoir exercé plusieurs années au Canada, en 2016 Me de Happi a pris la décision de retourner au Cameroun où elle est en charge du département droit de l’entreprise et des affaires OHADA et CEMAC au sein du Cabinet DH Avocats. A ce titre, elle accompagne plusieurs exportateurs étrangers dans le cadre de la protection de leurs opérations commerciales avec les entreprises locales et assiste les investisseurs, notamment, quant à la mise en oeuvre des mesures incitatives sur les plans fiscal et douanier prévus par la législation camerounaise régissant les investissements privés.

Expertise

  • Conformité légale et réglementaire

  • Droit des sociétés

  • Droit des contrats

  • Droit bancaire et financier

  • Droit des investissements

  • Droit du numérique

  • Trade and commodities